Karen Lee Schmidt - Popular Childrens Books

Review The Return of Zita the Spacegirl (Zita the Spacegirl Series)

Review The Return of Zita the Spacegirl (Zita the Spacegirl Series) Ben Hatke brings back our intrepid space heroine for another delightful sci-fi/fantasy adventure in this New York Times-Bestselling graphic novel trilogy for middle grade readers. Zita the Spacegirl...

Review Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (Americas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature. Commended)

Review Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (Americas Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature. Commended) A lyrical novel about family and friendship from critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Aristotle is an angry teen with...

Review The Black Cauldron (The Chronicles of Prydain)

Review The Black Cauldron (The Chronicles of Prydain) The Black Cauldron, the Newbery Medal-winning second book in Lloyd Alexander’s The Chronicles of Prydain In the land of Prydain, evil is never far away. Arawn, Lord of the Land of...

Review The Grey Lady and the Strawberry Snatcher

Review The Grey Lady and the Strawberry Snatcher The Wily woman eludes the thief and then leads him into an eerie swamp where this curious adventure takes a surprising and laughable turn.–Publishers Weekly. A Caldecott Honor Book. An ALA...

Review Somewhere in the Darkness

Review Somewhere in the Darkness An exciting, eye-catching repackage of acclaimed author Walter Dean Myers’ bestselling paperbacks, to coincide with the publication of SUNRISE OVER FALLUJA in hardcover. Jimmy hasn’t seen his father in nine years. But one day...

Review The Cottage in the Woods

Review The Cottage in the Woods For fans of Shannon Hale, Adam Gidwitz, and Michael Buckley comes a luminous new twist on a tale readers only thought they knew. . .   Once upon a time, there was a...

Review The Cow-Tail Switch: And Other West African Stories

Review The Cow-Tail Switch: And Other West African Stories “The stories of West Africa are about men and animals, about kings, warriors, and hunters. They tell about clever people and stupid people, about good ones and bad ones, about...